out of context
11:51 am, Wednesday, Feb. 09, 2005

There was this point yesterday - it doesn't matter when or why - that a feeling came over me quite suddenly. It wasn't anything I'd ever felt before, not exactly, but it was strangely familiar. It was a detached sort of curiosity or maybe it would be better to say it was a feeling that completely lacked emotion - something relatively unknown for me. It was a thought that took hold between two mouse clicks. I was working on an ad and between importing a photo and setting the photo on the page the thought was just suddenly there. What I thought, expressed in words, was "What is the point?" The point in question being everything. From finishing that ad to drawing another breath... what was the point? I suppose it was Camus' pure philosophical question in action. It wasn't connected to sadness or fear or anything at all. I suppose the somewhat flippant sounding response that I came up with is the only real response for someone of my philosophies: "Why not?"